The Centre is divided into six (6) units:

  1. Network Administration and Internet Services Unit OR Network/Internet Administration Unit
    1. Installation, configuration and maintenance of networking devices and servers on the University Network.
    2. Monitoring and maintenance of the University’s Internet backbone (uplink/ISP) for optimal performance of services on network connection.
    3. Extending the coverage of the University Network.
    4. Design, implementation, monitoring and maintenance of Local Area Network (LAN) for e-examination (CBT), computer laboratories and offices.
    5. Creating user access and administering users’ accounts on the university network.
    6. Monitoring of all servers connected to the network and protecting them from external attack.
    7. Responsible for the integrity, maintenance and efficiency of the Campus Network.
    8. Providing internet access to the University community and to the immediate community of the   University
  2. Management Information System Unit
    1. Managing of students and staff records, supply of information to Management and other authorized users in desired formats.
    2. Administration Online Student Registration
    3. Production of ID cards.
    4. Working with Time-Table Committee (TIMTEC) to produce examination and lecture time tables.
    5. Administration of e-Examinations.
    6. Responsible for acquisition and management of virtual libraries, electronic books, teaching and learning aids, virtual laboratories and lecture materials, and making them available to staff and students on the intranet
  3. Project Development Unit
    1. Developing software applications to automate administrative procedures and processes.
    2. Analysing existing systems and generating functional and non-functional requirements.
    3. Deploying, maintaining and supporting software applications.
    4. Setting up, configuring and administering the University’s applications and database servers.
    5. Administering and supporting third party solution e.g. Google Apps for Education.
  4. Training and Help Desk Unit
    1. Organizing computer training programmes for staff and students.
    2. Maintaining the computer training rooms
    3. Coordinating compilation and editing of Training books and slides.
  5. Open Users and  Commercial Unit:
    1. Providing direct computer access to staff and students at appropriate charge per time unit.
    2. Managing computer laboratories and provide access for students’ lectures, practical and computer-based tests/examinations.
    3. Providing ICT support for Post-graduate student’s research.
    4. Providing commercial services to the University Community in the area of Online Registration for Post-graduate, under-graduate and prospective students.
    5. Provide information and/or assistance to ICT end users on hardware and software issues.
  6. Hardware Maintenance and Multimedia Unit
    1. Providing technical Repairs and maintenance of computer systems in various laboratories and offices, Departments and Colleges.
    2. Deploying multimedia systems for seminars, conferences and workshops, lectures, and thesis defence on request.
    3. Configuration of servers for deployment of operating systems, printers, scanners and other external components of a computer.
    4. Training of SIWES students on computer engineering, repairs, maintenance and troubleshooting etc.